JP8000 or MS2000?

akpcep

Hi all,

I'm getting a bit sick of my softsynths, and the bloody latency that means I have to drag everything I play back a few ms to make it sync up.

I was thinking of getting a synth, that had a shedload of features (arpeggiator, simple sequencing, lots of hands-on control of parameters) and that sounded wicked. I really like analog-style burbling, wailing, stabbing, everything that sounds proper "synthy".

I've heard the Roland JP8000 a little bit, and had the MS2000 recommended to me when I was considering a MicroKorg, but the MicroKorg is apparently fiddly to edit and quite expensive for what it is. I think I can get a second hand JP8000 or MS2000 for just a little bit more, and they've got full-sized keys.

Basically, I'm a guitarist with a home studio so it has to be pretty accessible! Would appreciate any help or comments...

Both are capable and good synths. I personally would go for the MS2000, the Roland VA is kinda weak imho and the MS is definitely the more popular of the 2

Thanks dude.

Just been looking at alesis Micron as well, which seems to fare well against the MicroKorg. I suppose it's good to have so much choice, but it's a bit tricky trying to decide what to splash out on.

I think the main thing for me is that it must be easily "twiddlable", as a creative tool. I want to be able to just go crazy on it and let it inspire me. Anything that involves vast amounts of manual-reading to get anything workable is just not gonna cut it.

Actually, I should change the topic of this thread to "What is the most FUN synth?"

Which synth, in your experience, has the most out of the box fun factor? The kind of piece of gear that no matter WHAT you do, it still sounds cool?