jazz drum recording

southpark

im new to home recording and need some help with recording drums that sound airy but still have lots of dynamic like this: YouTube - ‪Black Dub - "I Believe In You" Live Off The Floor‬‏ ive been playing around with mic placements for a while now and believe its impossible to capture good drums with two mics since when i try, it always sounds like the mic is 50 feet away from the mic. im looking in to getting some new gear to help with this. need advice on some good mics and some placements to try. also if treating the recording area will help. im also on a budget so cheap mics(no more than $100) are all i can afford.
Cheers
Dan

You want to buy all your mics for under $100? That's going to be tough. Since you're doing jazz you can get away with less mics, but $100 is still a pretty tight budget. While the video you posted used minimal mics and still had a great sound, I'm sure they used some pretty expensive overheads. What mics do you already have?

I can see in the video they used at least two overheads and a snare mic, but probably a kick mic too. They get a lot of that "airy" sound by piling reverb on the overheads, which is a pretty easy trick to do (you just don't want to over-do it).

I've heard people get surprisingly good results from this $200 kit.

That kit is $100 more than you wanted to spend, but I wouldn't settle for anything less than that (even if you don't end up using all the mics). Another option would be to use whatever overheads you have right now in addition to the tom/snare mics from that kit (you could probably put one of those tom mics in your kick and use it as a trigger track as well).

It might help if you could post a sample of a recording you did with your current setup so we can give you some tips on how to improve it. Also, what interface are you using?