Jammin' out

gawkman

Okay, I've been playing for a couple of years now, and I'm finally at that point when I can play just about everything, so I'm ready to take on rhythm guitar in a band. Problem: I can play, but I have trouble movin' to my music! When I start to move too much, I start playing sloppy, and you know how boring it is to watch a guitarist on stage just standing there doing nothing while the singer is yelling his guts out.
So what's the secret? I've seen one guy in a local band headbanging his head off while playing crazy solos and never missing a note. Do you just have to play so long and be so good that you could play "Master Of Puppets" hanging upside down in a tree while someone is tickling your armpits?

Jumping around or swaying while you play is no big deal. So what if you can't do that?
Is that gonna prevent you from becoming a rock star?... or did you learn how to play just to impress chicks?
Look, Eric Clapton never danced, swayed, or jumped around the stage... but, it didn't seem to hurt HIS career.
"Banging your head off" while never missing a note is someone elses style (or should I say "gimmick"?)... Develop your own style or trademark.
One thing that made me want to play guitar was seeing Clapton play Layla with Derek & the Dominoes (live) with his trademark cigarette perched on the headstock of his Strat. His eyes were closed and his head was tilted back and slowly going from side to side. Nothing spectacular... but he just looked so damned cool, and I decided right then and there that I wanted to play guitar.
Find "your own" moves and make it YOUR trademark style. Even if it's something simple. People remember you better when you are original.

If you think its not cool to just stand there in play, I remeber this guy in a band named Guns n Roses named Slash......