Jam Night?

barks62

Ok, so I'm still learning how to play guitar, but I feel like I'm making some progress. I heard that a local bar has jam nights once a week (kind of a surprise to me because I live in a rinky dink town), and I'm wondering if and when I should give something like that a shot. I saw something mentioned in a post for new guitarists and it got me to thinking that it might be something worth trying someday.

What skill level do I need to be before I try it? Of course I will go just to watch a few times before I even decide if I want to attempt to play, but what should I be paying attention to when I'm watching? What do I need to know so I don't go in there and look stupid? Are these stupid questions?

I would be terrified of being on stage and I'm not sure if I'd be able to play in front of people, but I thought a jam night might be the best way to find out.

I'd love to hear some thoughts on this.

Maybe you could find some friends to jam with and learn a few things to play before you try it in front of an audience.
You know, like some basic blues riff runs, so you have a starting repetoire.
We used to have Friday jam night in an old barn, all you need are some guitars, amps, girlfriends and beer
(a drummer is a huge plus if you can find one).
We got ok at playing Sweet Home Alabama and it was fun as hell.
I've never flailed in front of an audience, but something tells me it wouldn't be very fun.

Learn a couple of standards - singing and playing - get them down pat before you go there to play. Unless you want to be the next American Idol joke.

Play with some friends first. Playing with others is a whole lot different than playing in your bedroom. No friends who play, go take some lessons at a place that lets you jame with other learners.