I've narrowed down my search...

0-T

Sup y'all,

I'm trying to throw together a semi-professional bedroom booth (vocal mic and pre-amp) for under $500. I'm a newbie here, so I didn't wanna make a "what mic should I get" post without doing a lot of searching first. From some of your reviews, I think I've narrowed it down to:

Condenser Microphone
  • Audio-Technica 4040 - $299.99
    This one's popular... supposedly it replaced the 4033. I know a lot of people in the industry use AT-4040's now, so I'm sure it's not bad... but industry standard rarely means "best," so I haven't settled on it yet.
  • Marshall MXL2003 ($239.99) or Marshall MXLv67 ($199.99)
    I've seen a lot of you recommend both, but their specs are pretty different to say they're in the same price range. Which would you buy for recording vocals and why?
  • Rode NT1 - $199.99
    Seems like a great mic for a great price. I've spoken to people that own them, and they're happy, but they're also quick to admit that mics in the 300 dollar range are easily better. That's a bit confusing for me...$100 doesn't seem like much to pay for a "clearly better" mic. What do you think?
  • Rode NT1000 - $299.99
    I've heard that this mic may be "too clean" for hip-hop/R&B recordings. I don't see how that's a bad thing though. Shouldn't the vocals be recorded as clearly as possible before the mixing process? Any experiences with this one?
  • Rode NTK - $499.99
    This one's way out of my price range, but I just wanted to know what makes it so much better than other Rodes. What are you getting for that extra 2-300?
  • Oktava MK-319 - $99.99
    Seems like an incredible mic for the price, but since they're hand made, the quality control varies. This pretty much ruled it out completely for me, so I dunno. =
  • Shure KSM27 - $299.99