Is this good for recording?

westg8

I am, as many others, a complete newbie to pc recording. My band wants to make a cd of our stuff over the holiday break to give out to family and friends. My computer is a 400 MHz, Pentium II, 13.5 gb (a lot used up), 128 mb RAM Aptiva IBM. The sound card is your basic multimedia PC soundcard with a mic in, line in, and line out. For monitors, all i have are my sony stereo speakers (2 200 Watt speakers). One of my other band members may be able to get a sound card which we can then install (is the aardvark direct pro LX6 good, any others that are cheaper??....). Also, i know that using stereo speakers aren't the best for use as monitors, but can it be done without totally making a horrible cd? I have gotten cool edit pro to use as my software. I also have a cd-r drive so that won't be a problem. Does anyone have any advice if this is good just to make a few cds, or should i definitely consider upgrading or getting any new stuff? Any advice would be appreciated.

What do U plan to use for recordin,

IE what program on your PC, what mic(s), what mixer or stand alone mic pre's ect.....

your PC looks fine for recordin minus the HD space, might wanna get some more.... it gets eaten quickly.... a lot of it.

Sabith