Is there such a thing as a box for multiple mics into one input?

Nick Janczak

Okay, so this might be the stupidest question ever but if you don't ask you don't find out! I'm thinking of a situation where you run out of inputs on your mixing desk (mine only has 8) and you still need to plug more mics in, and you don't want to/can't afford another desk to link up to the existing one. So is there a junction box type thing where you can plug say 4 mics into it and then only have one xlr connection going to the input?
I know you won't be able to mix each mic but if you place them right and use some patience you could get a reasonable 'live' sound? Please keep the techie language simple, I'm just learning about this stuff.

With some exceptions pretty much EVERYTHING gets mixed down to two tracks @ 44.1KHz so what you want to do is get something like a Behringer ULTRAGAIN PRO-8 Mic Preamp/Converter or a Nady PRA-8 that will run 8 inputs down to a single output which you can then feed into your mixer or whatever. Mind you I can't speak to their quality.

Luck.

Build yourself a simple resistance mixer. You will learn many valuable lessons (like "I should have just saved up for a mixer with more inputs.")

Thanks

Guys thank you for some useful information.
Bouldersoundguy you just couldn't resist the wagging your finger/sucking in your breath patronising speech, could you? Oh well...

Hey Nick

Often people will just answer your question, without trying to find out why it's being asked. When you're a newbie, this can often send you down a path that you don't necessarily want to go down because you don't know what the right question is to ask.

Everyone's just answered your question, so you can just take that info and go shopping if you like.