Is it wise to buy used equipements ?

gafadi

hey guys, im looking for some Studio monitors but unfortunately my pocket doesnt go that deep , i have a $200 budget. I can find some pretty good box. But i found a deal , a used KRK rokit 8's generation 1.

Is it wise to buy used equipements ?

-------------------------------------------------

more info :

This is the rokit im about to buy

The look very neat for 3-4 years, im going to his place tomorrow to check out the monitor.

But there is one problem , i've never used studio monitor before so i've no idea what its suppose to sound like or whats the feature. What would be some common test that can be done ?

Last edited:
Check some forums for whether the item you're looking at has any reliability problems. Don't ask around, just search the name and see if you see any/many "help, my <product name here> just stopped working for no reason!" threads. Read those and see whether they were user error or product defects.
See if there are any common problems and whether they are an easy fix.

That done and no red flags, do not buy them without a) hearing the actual set of monitors you are buying to ensure they work or b) receiving an absolute guarantee that they work as advertised and can be returned with no cost to you if they do not.

Then the only difference between the used product and a new one is a couple years of use and no manufacturers warranty.
But with your research and guarantee, neither of those should be a problem.

I buy (and sell) used equipment all the time, mostly on eBay, sometimes I find neat stuff at garage sales, the surplus market, etc.. Overall, I've had great success with all this - only one issue where the seller sold me a JBL 4-channel compressor and "coincidentally" the US postman removed the item from the box, and placed an equal-weight rock in the box and taped it close. The seller even had video of him putting the item in the box and taping it shut!