Is it cheating?

sirslurpee

What does THIS button do?
For me to be writing songs with EZDrummer and recording the rest of the tracks over that, even though I am a drummer and I have all the nessicary equipment to record? I prefer to use EZDrummer because it sounds a whole lot better and besides I can write out any fill/variation and even grace notes in EZD that I would normally play on the drums...
What do you guys think?

no its not cheating imo.... its all about the music and if u feel it sounds better using EZD then use it lol......

I love EZ-Drummer..it sounds great, and works. I just bought some acoustic drums yesterday, and have never played them before in my life. I will probably die before I can play well enough to record a song on them.

It's whatever works for you....

I don't think it's cheating. Programming parts or using loops is a reality of modern music. I have as much respect for a well thought out creatively looped/programmed arrangement as I do for a well performed track.

I'm a drummer and I also on occasion use things like EZDrummer or BFD. I never try to take credit for something I did not actually perform - in fact, I often take as much pride in a track I programmed as in a track I performed.

I don't have the right type of room to track acoustic drums - most home recording spaces don't (even though I have a couple of great kits). I do have a set of Roland TD10 which I normally use to track a MIDI performance and then trigger whatever sound I need.

However some songs sound fine with a programmed groove - and it can often be faster and easier than trying to ace an actual performance.

The ends justifies the means.

No its not cheating the band Sameal uses a drum machine and their signed to a major label. But what your using sounds real great I might look into it.

wow ezdrummer does sound pretty good. are all those tracks with ez drummer they sound like it. the beats a little repetitive. But it fits well in the mix nicely.

sirslurpee said: