Introductions are in order!

Turtleface

Evening everyone, or whatever salutation is appropriate for your time zone(s). I've been browsing the site a bit, found lots of good info, and decided to sign myself up. So here we are.

I'm currently an aspiring guitarist/songwriter/recording engineer. Quite new to the songwriting/engineering side, but I have had a good amount of guitar practice under my belt. Started when I was thirteen, lasted about three years until a "friend" sold my amp out from under me, and another "friend" hocked my Jackson RR1 for meth. So I dropped out of actively making music, and decided to just be a fan and start my digital music archives. Fast forward about ten years, and I was finally in a place to start buying decent gear. Picked up a few choice pieces of guitar gear, and settled into practicing scales and making goals, practicing vocal exercises and what have you. Now I'm finally at the point where I want to start recording myself, and the other half of my singer/songwriter duo. Eventually, I'd like to build a very powerful, very portable (and probably very pricey) recording rig that I can potentially roll into any venue in the greater Phoenix area, and plug into a FOH board and record gigs.

Here's what I've picked up so far:

Guitars
Martin D-15
Jackson SL1
Epiphone Les Paul Prophecy (slightly modified)
Rickenbacker 360

Amps
Crate V50 (50 watts, 2 6L6s, 3 12AX7s, very Fender-y)
Blackheart Little Giant (3/5 watts, 1 EL84, 1 12AX7)

Pedals and Effects
MXR Ten Band EQ
MXR Distortion III
EH Small Clone
MXR Super Comp
Peterson Strobostomp Tuner
Line 6 POD HD500

Recording Gear
Macbook Pro, 15" 2.2 GHZ, Quad Core, 4 gigs of ram (bumping to 8, very soon)
Mackie Blackjack
2 SM57s
1 SM58
Alesis SR-16 Drum Machine
GarageBand