Introduction to Myself

billz270

So I'll quickly get to the main details and avoid doing the whole personal information.
I have been attempting to practice music production for over 6 years now, with several, significantly long intervals in the 6 years.
To be honest I never really considered myself a musician and all of the knowledge that I have is because of my elder brother, who is a legit musician (drummer). I was always interested in SFX, psychedelic sound spaces, good ambience and well arranged bass music, which is what I have been attempting to make ever since (with a little influence of hip-hop).
I use Ableton Live 10 and all my plugins are purchased (not that I have any really expensive ones, just make most of the plugin boutique sales). I have a windows PC and everything works perfectly.
Now I'll start spelling out all of my doubts:
- None of the mixes I make ever sound complete or full. They're always flat, panning is very random, and there's never enough punch/presence in my sounds/instruments.
- Although I ensure to keep a check on my levels, and EQ my sounds, making sure to leave enough headroom in the master channel, I end up having frequencies fighting for stereo space.
- I feel like selecting the right timbers to make a nice family of sounds is a very tough skill to acquire. Because although I try to extract sounds from existing sounds, I never end up making it sound 'one'.
- I don't have a particular process that I follow, and end up putting ideas down at random and just build from there.
- I feel really demotivated because over the years, even though my knowledge pertaining to music production is growing, the application of that knowledge is really hard to implement.