Introduction and Question

sketterman

Hello everyone, I just registered here and wanted to give a little introduction before I start asking questions. I'm a 27 year old drummer from San Diego, been playing since 4th grade, and listen to a variety of music, with a passion for the heavier stuff. I've recorded a handful of studio demos over the years (unfortunately with minimal hands-on experience), but now I am getting into home recording. A friend and I have been jamming for a few weeks now, and are trying to get a band together.

Okay, so the last part of my intro leads into my question. We have written a bunch of riffs and whatnot but we want to record all of our ideas down so we can go back to them and make something out of them. We dont want anything expensive, but since I'm the drummer, I'd like the drums to sound somewhat decent, so I'd like to be able to use 3-4 mics for the kit. The problem with that, is you need to spend hundreds to get a multitracker that allows you to record more than 2 tracks at a time, meaning I have ONE track to lay some drums on. SO, my question is, if we have a Fostex Porta Studio (2 tracks simultaneous recording), could we buy a mixer with 6-8 inputs, run the drum mics through the mixer, and send that mix to a single channel on the recorder, and then use the other track to record a guitar track? Hopefully I explained that in a way that makes sense. I realize this answer may be in a thread already, but damn...this is a big, big forum :-)

Yes you can .You would be sending a submix of the drums to the single channel.It would be mono of course but it will work.Just get the mix the way you want it before recording as your stuck with it then.
Jim

Would it be okay to adjust the EQ on the mixer during recording, or would it be better to record as is and make EQ adjustments on the recorder?