Inspiration

Ziller

I've been reading tons of posts over the last couple of months, getting ideas on gear and techniques as I build my small studio in the basement, and something occured to me. I am a musician, and my studio is a place for me to go and relax, get away from it all and become inspired. I found myself looking at gear not just for the way it sounds, but the way it looks, or *feels*. I realized how importent it is, when you open that cold ale, turn down the lights, do whatever else you do to get into that creative space, to be able to look around and see stuff that *inspires* you. More even, then the quality or clearity. I don't think this applies as much to those who just record, but to musicians. I decided not to put anything in my studio which, no matter how great the reviews or how good the sound, which in any way stifles my creativity.

This make any sense? I am a programmer, and considered using my ultra fast computer to record, and realized the last thing I want, after programming all day, is to look over and see a computer in my relaxing, creative space. I just look at it and my musical inpiration dries up.

I recenty had 300 bucks to but a mixer. I tried out one of those Behringers, and what made me bring it back was not the sound, but the metallic look. It made me all edgy and I just wasn't writing like I want. Maybe it would be ok if your into metal, or techno, but that's not me. In the end I chose this old, scratchy Studiomaster because when I sat down to relax/record, it was comfortable. Same with recorders. I choose to go analog and buy a somewhat beatup TSR 8 just because, when I'm recording, it inspires me to see the reels spin. The way the candlelight flickers off those spinning 10" reels opens just draws the music out of me. There no sense in getting a great recording of your music if you arn't writing what you know is in you, but won't come out.