Inexpensive Exterior?

framos

From my question, you'll come to the correct conclusion that I'm new at home recording and studio construction. But it's become apparent that if I'm going to continue with my home recording obsession, I'm going to have to construct my own (and hopefully inexpensive) studio.
I live in an area of the country where a 1,100 sq ft. building will cost on the high end of $75 to & $100 a square foot.
Therefore, I've been looking at ways of cutting down the building cost as much as possible without compromising sound quality.
So, does anyone have any tips on cost reduction? Would a concrete exterior structure reduce the cost significantly?
I've looked at modifying garage plans or maybe modifying an existing structure, althought I would prefer to have a building on my property.
What's the cheapest exterior material that any of you have had experience with?
Any thoughts and tips would be greatfully appreciated.

framos

How are you at carpentry?

I'm serious. The cost per sq. ft. you mentioned, is just about the same here in my area. I'm building a 1200 sq. ft. studio and to HAVE it built for me, would have run around $120,000. I was able to significantly reduce that cost by doing a LOT of the construction myself, and acting as the general contractor for hiring contractors to do the things I couldn't.

I expect the total construction costs of the facility itself to come in right at $60,000.

Basically, I'm doing all the framing, insulation, sheathing and drywall, painting, and I'm contracting out the following:

Foundation
Roofing
Brick exterior
Electrical
HVAC
Plumbing

It takes a LOT longer to do it this way; I'm 9 months into construction, and I just now have the exterior completed, and all the interior framing completed. I'm starting HVAC, and electrical rough-in this week, as well as insulation, and some drywall.