I'm New To This

Homework

I'm using Sonar Power Studio 660 with the FireWire interface, and I can only seem to record onto either the right channel or the left channel, depending on which of the two inputs I use on the front panel. Can someone help me with the reasons for that?

Thanks

I'll cut to the chase: If your source (in this case, a single microphone?) is mono, you should record to a mono track. Then you use the mono track's pan control to position that sound on your stereo soundstage when you mix the song.

Don

The instrument in question is a guitar, but I imagine it's giving me the same problem that a mic would.

Would you mind telling me how to switch a track to a mono setting? I looked around but couldn't find how to do this.

Thanks

.. Would you mind telling me how to switch a track to a mono setting? I looked around but couldn't find how to do this.

Thanks
In Sonar (Power' the same?) when you assign the record input from the drop-down box on the track you likely have 'L, 'R, and 'Stereo versions to pick from each of a given pair available from your sound card.
Now, whether this track is a 'stereo or mono track', it will record either a single wave in the center of the track pane (if a mono 'L or 'R' is selected), or a pair of wave forms if the 'stereo input was selected.
What's missing here -is when you 'Insert New Audio', what causes a new track to be stereo' or mono.
(I should know this, done it before, but for the life can't pull that one out.. :rolleyes: :)

Last edited:
This is relevant from the help doc- what the 'Stereo- Mono button does -routing through effects insert, and playback..

-- Changing Tracks' Mono/Stereo Status --

SONAR has a mono/stereo button in each track module in the Track and Console views. The buttons in the track modules force each track to play in either stereo or mono, but preserve the tracks' pan positions in the stereo mix.