Im new here....I NEED HELP

RawkpunK

HELP PLEASE!
hey guys, this is my first time on here and all the info is reaaaally helpful, yet also as equally confusing. there are alot of contradictions about certain things and i guess the only true answers are obtained by trial and error. having said that i WOULD like some advise on a major purchase im about to make. im looking at the adat studio pack and its looking real good to me, though ive heard otherwise. basically im in a pop punk band that im going to be recording(doesnt involve over elaborate effects or anything like that)all im looking for in this setup is good high quality sound(not like major studio eric clapton quality)that will produce good demo cd's and stuff like that. also the adat edit card cause ill be doing most mixing and editing on pc(cubase). over time ill probably add an xt as the master and use the lx as the slave(is that ok to do?)I NEED HELP...oh my..haha im so confused. im gonna also put up a help me in the recording technique section about mics...a whole other headache...but please give some advise if ya could THanX -RawkpunK-

[This message has been edited by RawkpunK (edited 12-27-1999).]

RawPunk,

I've been looking at the Studio Pack for a year! Just waiting to get the money together. Here is what you will hear from a lot of people:

The LX doesn't compare to the XT--actually, in a lot of ways it does. Inside, the units are almost identical. Biggest difference: the LX doesn't have +4, balanced inputs. For home recording that isn't a huge problem. My 4 track doesn't have those types of inputs but with a little mixing magic I get plenty of input and output from my 4 track. When I am ready to make the leap from home recording to studio recording I will go to a studio until I get enough money back in royalties to build my own studio. The digital output of the LX and XT are the same, so if you ever go to the all digital domain in the future, you are set.