I'm giving line6 a second chance.

cactuseskimo

So, this was me. Pretty much a tube snob who thought Line6 was totally gay, and that never in a million years would I be playing anything other than my Laney VC30 class A tube amp and my Les Paul goldtop, Junior, and other assorted guitars. Oh yeah, throw in a Vox Cooltron Tube distortion pedal. That was my setup, and I swore by it.

THEN . . . I started playing guitar with a band called Jon Adams ( jonadamsmusic.com ) and all of a sudden, I needed an effects processor. I had used the Boss Gt-3 in the past and although the Boss processors are so unbelievably tweakable in their functions, I just found it uninspiring. I thought I would give the Line 6 POD XT Live a try STRICTLY for the effects.

Well, it came, I played, I tweaked, I wasted a buttload of time sitting in my boxers playing, and pretty soon, I was hooked. What a useful tool. I would say it doesn't quite trump the analog effects equivalents, but I love it nonetheless. So many tools. And really great sounds too.

THEN . . . I decided to hook it up to my computer for some really hassle free recording. DAMN. I thought I was just going to lay down scratch tracks with it. I'm not so sure anymore. And this is using medium gain clipping settings like the Vox Top Boost. Not the heavey rectifier sounds that were generally esier to emulate.

(On a side note. I also took the POD XT Live to a gig once and went right to the PA. It was passable. Not bad actually, but this is one area I don't think a modeller can ever be used to replace an amp -straight to a PA)

So, with this new found enlightenment about the ACTUALLY good tones of the POD, my interest in Line 6 was peaked, and I decided I wanted to try out a Variax Guitar for myself (instead of reading the reviews that are either 10/10 or 1/10 on HC). So I went down to a music store and gave the 500 model a whirl fully expecting to be dissapointed and agree with the 1/10 guys on HC.