I'm an acid noob...help?

TylerDrums109

So basically i want to know how to get the best out of this program as i know a minimal amount about it....i have a few direct questions but any tips you guys use to record/mix drums guitar bass and vocals with i would appreciate...so here goes a few questions...please be patient as i am a noob :)

1. WHY DO I GET LAG!!!! ALWAYS LAG!!! ITS SO ANNOYING...whats the fix?
2. Are the built in effects even worth using?...or do you guys find some nice vst plugins and use those instead...i would like to find a nice free software compressor if you guys could recommend one...or maybe the onboard one is just fine?
3. Can you guys explain some of the effects on this program and some situations where they would be worth using?

but yeah like i said you guys can feel free to add in anything else you would like to...sorry if these questions sound stupid but i am lost in alot of this

i would like to find a nice free software compressor if you guys could recommend one...

Blockfish is a good freeware VST compressor, though I've never tried it with Acid. In fact all three fish fillets are handy to have in your collection.

You'll have to google for them as the forum won't let me post links yet as I'm a noob around here. :D

So basically i want to know how to get the best out of this program as i know a minimal amount about it....i have a few direct questions but any tips you guys use to record/mix drums guitar bass and vocals with i would appreciate...so here goes a few questions...please be patient as i am a noob :)

1. WHY DO I GET LAG!!!! ALWAYS LAG!!! ITS SO ANNOYING...whats the fix?