I'm a rap artist about to start a new album. What mic do I use?

Go to a good engineer, and have him use whatever mic he feels is most appropriate.

If you don't trust him to make that decision, then you need to find a different engineer. It's that simple.

chessrock said:
Go to a good engineer, and have him use whatever mic he feels is most appropriate.

If you don't trust him to make that decision, then you need to find a different engineer. It's that simple.

okay, my engineer is dope. You heard him mix. Problem is, he's an engineer at an L.A. voiceover studio. While the studio has great protools mixing capabilities, it only has one mic that's decent for what I do; the tlm 103. HE says we could benefit greatly from the c800g or the u87ai, but he has neither. What I'm about to do is find a studio to record at for the same price he'd charge me to record there with the tlm. Then, give him the .aiff or .wav of my vocals to mix with the tracked out music. However, I stumbled across a guy with the 149 and he says it's a better mic for what I do.

I'm asking the opinion of this board if it is a better mic for my voice/style.

again, for reference: http://www.soundclick.com/blacksoultan or
http://www.myspace.com/blacksoultanadinfinitum

I used the Neuamnn u87 for a demo I recorded. Man did it rock. I recommend it a lot.....you could always rent one too!

BlackSoultan said:
okay, my engineer is dope. You heard him mix. Problem is, he's an engineer at an L.A. voiceover studio. While the studio has great protools mixing capabilities, it only has one mic that's decent for what I do; the tlm 103. HE says we could benefit greatly from the c800g or the u87ai, but he has neither. What I'm about to do is find a studio to record at for the same price he'd charge me to record there with the tlm. Then, give him the .aiff or .wav of my vocals to mix with the tracked out music. However, I stumbled across a guy with the 149 and he says it's a better mic for what I do.