Idiot's Guide to plug-in's please!

Jenny73

Hi all,

I'm pretty new to this home recording malarky and am loving it despite not really having a clue what I'm doing at the moment :o

I bought Logic Express 8 a couple of years back but have only really got into using it properly these last few months.
I didn't go for the Logic Pro as I thought I'd never really use/need any of the add on options.
However, it's looking like I definitely do as despite being able to get so far, well, you can only get so far with Logic Express.

So, I think my first thing would be to update to Logic Pro but then I have a question re plugins....

I know a few sound engineers near where I live and that's all they ever seem to talk about...
And when they've got a new pack, you don't see them for a few weeks!

I've even got to the point now where I'm wondering if the "best" sound engineers around here are simply those that have the best plugins?!

Is that me being unfair?!

Also, how do they work exactly?

Do I buy them virtually? i.e. online.

And then once they're on my computer, how do I get them to open in Logic?!

Should I upgrade Logic before doing anything else?

Thanks all!

You will be getting lots of no-doubt silly questions from me in the coming weeks!

A plug-in is just a effect (or virtual instrument). Reverb, EQ, compression, etc. You load the software into the VST folder in your hardrive programs section (assuming PC, not sure about Mac), tell the DAW to go check for new plug-ins, then just add the plug-in as an FX on the track.

I've even got to the point now where I'm wondering if the "best" sound engineers around here are simply those that have the best plugins?!!
I would dis-abuse myself of that ridiculous notion as soon as possible. :D

There a thousands of kids with the best and most expensive cracked software calling themselves "producers", and even more often "producah's" who couldn't mix a cake even if it only had one ingredient.