Identify this Ampex Pre!

Hi, the ebay auction for THIS Ampex stereo pre ends today. I can't find a lick of information online about it though. Can anybody help me?

What's the point of having it if you don't have the transport to go with it?

It's not like there's Mic inputs on it with pads and trim controls. Just a balanced line in and out and the head connections as well as needing to have the correct power supply.

Unless someone is going to chime in extol the virtues of a tube stage in the circuit which will only add mostly noise and distortion...those older Ampex electronics had pretty noisy specs.

Cheers! :)

I'm confused. It is true I'm new to all this, but it appears to me that it has mic inputs on it, in the back?

It has balanced inputs which resemble microphone inputs but they are not labeled as such so I would assume the deck it was designed for was to be used with an external separate mixer with Microphone inputs.

Ampex field recorder units like the 350 and 600 series would have Mic inputs as they were self contained units. This unit appears to belong to something other then that.

Even more disturbing is that the ebay seller is calling it a power amp! :D

Ok, while were on the topic, I am even more interested in the ampeg 351 pres such as THIS one. Does the same thing apply to this amp? Also, what are these things worth? This guy is charging 800 or whatever. You may know from my previous thread that I am interested in doing pre 70's recordings. I know for a fact that STAX and SUN both used ampex gear, so this would be ideal. What should I be paying, and SHOULD I even bother to buy one of these (depending on whether or not i need the transport).

Thanks for the help.