Ideas are lying around everywhere, you just have to pick them up...

Armistice

Son of Yoda
I'm talking lyrical ideas here.

So I'm shit at marketing. And I'd really rather not mention to people in my day to day life that, yes I'm a musician, no I don't play anywhere but I actually record, and yes, I'm serious about it and have some skill, but I don't really care whether you like what I do or not - listen to it please, but there's no need to comment further, either way, unless one of my songs changes your life somehow. 😁

But, you know, word gets out, and I just, a few days ago, released a(nother) album, and so, against my better judgement I'm mentioning this to people, so they don't later think I've been leading a secret life... 😒

And as a result of this, almost inevitably, the question "Where do you get your ideas from?" comes up in casual conversation, in person and online. Well, I mean, how can you not have ideas? They're everywhere, really... 🤨

To embrace the abundance of said ideas, you do have to stop writing tortured lyrics about your innermost thoughts, your demons, your wife/girlfriend/boyfriend/husband and what they've done to you, your dog, your car, your youth, your problems with substances, and the like - unless you think you have a particular angle that is interesting and hasn't been done before, or it has been done before but you're doing it better. Perhaps you'll write the perfect love/hate/break up/get together/dog/drug/car song, but probably none of us will, and it's a really crowded arena because that's what so many other people do.

And I do those songs as well, but generally by exception, rather than default.

So what this thread is going to be about is my new album - 10 songs, one at a time, starting in the next post, the lyrics, what they're actually about and where the idea came from.😉