I studied music, I lost all the passion...

ja_cote

Hi,

I am hoping to connect with other musicians that have gone through what I am going through and can share their stories of "recovery" and give some advice that I might try.

Years ago, when I was between 18 and 22 (now 29) creating new songs flowed out of me like water flows through a river. I was raw, untrained, with just a great ear and a talent for singing songs and writing catchy tunes. Those were the good years. I was in a band and would present about 2-3 new tunes each week. I loved my hobby.

Now, at 29, I'm lucky to produce 2-3 tunes a year.

I wonder what happened...

My only theory is that I began to take music more seriously and studied certain music styles and even took some guitar lessons to accomplish what I thought I needed to accomplish, which was get formalized training in my instrument.

While I did learn more about my instrument, and got better at the technical aspects of playing, I lost something much greater...

The unscripted and unaltered by theory.

The exploration was no longer there...I was in a box.

And, I haven't come out of it yet. What happened, how can I find that "visceral place" within myself to once again create?

For what it's worth, my brother and I were very much alike. He continued to pursue writing and got a degree in composition. He creates beautiful music and relies heavily on his training, which for him only served to reinforce his talent. So, I'm not saying my theory is sound, but maybe if someone out there has had a similar loss of inspiration and has some advice for me I'd love to hear from you.

Thanks.

Just a stab in the dark, but..

Could it perhaps be that in learning you discovered there was more you didn't know than things you did and it simply overwhelmed you or made you think within the limatations of structure, meaning things could be "Wrong" because you had been exposed to what was "Right" and it simply wasn't as fun with "Rules"?