i need help please

nl553

Hey I am a beginner at recording and im wondering if anyone out there could give me some advice on recording vocals. I have a pretty good mic hooked up to the 4 track and I have that hooked in the mixer but I cant seem to get a good recording of vocals without a pre-amp and even with that it is not the best. I would like to know where the best place to record in a house is or any other advice anyone could give me

how do you have the 4-track going into the mixer....or am i confused?......

You see, thats what im talking about i really dont know as much as i should. I can put together a pretty good recording but in the long run i really dont know what im doing. How should i have the 4 track hooked up?

OK guy, I saw your post on the mic forum and asked you for some specifics. Let's start from the beginning. You may not need the mixer here at all. Answer these questions:

1. It seems like you have only one mic - is that the case?

2. Does the mic plug mate with the 4-track? If not, is that what you're doing with the mixer, trying to interface the two?

3. What type of mic and 4-track are you dealing with? (Have you checked out the manual? Even if you bought it used you can probably get the manual off the internet.)

Tell us what you plugged where and what settings you used.

4. Is this an April fool's joke?

lol

Thanks for replying pchorman.I have 2 mics but I only use one because the other is just stupid ( no need to explain). The mic I do use is a unidirectional mic from radio shack (now I know I should have not bought it from there) but I have to make the best of what I have. It plugs directly into the 4 track. The 4 track is an old tascam recorder but it works better than any other track recorder I've ever had, and I have had a couple. The mixer is just there for the EQ. everything else is ok i have the key board going into the 4 track and the drum machine going into the 4 track