I just cannot play with a click

deejuks2

I've tried and tried, and i just can not play ANYthing along to a click track. For songs without drums or hardly any percussion at all i can get by without it - but when i try to add any drums the lack of timing in my guitar playing really shows. Any tips? Maybe playing to a drum machine would be a good idea?

P.S. i am recording by myself. (If that wasnt already obvious)

I always program a drum beat to play with. And I'm a drummer. Typical click tracks are not pleasing by any means. There are free drum programs out there, but for ease of use, and pre-programmed grooves, I would recommend EZDrummer. It $39 recently, but I believe it is more than that now. Well worth it either way IMO.

I say man up and figure it out. I could play along to dogs barking or fleas farting, and I totally suck, so beeps or clicks should be nothing.

I can't play to a click either, so I just choose not to. If The first track I lay down is electric guitar through a Digitech RP300, so I just use the built-in fake drums in the pedal. This is just a guide track anyway, so it'll end up getting deleted once something real is on there.

I've tried and tried, and i just can not play ANYthing along to a click track.

I think that an initial dislike of click tracks is very common. It's much harder to be really accurate than most of us give credit to, especially when you're in the early stages. There's some interesting tests you can do (further down the track) when you think you're pretty darned good. One is to set the volume at a level where your playing (a scale or whatever) can just over-ride the sound of the click. You then play for a while and see how long you go without ever hearing a click! A version of that is to get a friend to turn the volume down for a few seconds and then see how close you are when it comes back up again.