I hesitate putting this on here

jeff5xo

Ok, I didn't really want to put this on here YET. I'ts not mixed properly, there's no eq or verbs on drums yet. Anyway, take a listen, and tell me what you think. I'm a posting virgin, so go easy on me. Thanks to Tim B., Wade, and all others, who answered my questions regaurding recording drums!

http://www.nowhereradio.com/5x0/singles

Hang on, I might have uploaded it wrong, I'm new to this nowhere radio thang. I'll try to fix it.

DW drumset (sounded awesome from the get-go)

Overheads- Octava MK-12
Bass- Beta 52
Snare-MD-421
Hi-tom-SM-57
Lo tom- MD421
Ambient mc, placed outside the drum room- KSM-32

The room we recorded drums in was 10x10, with 7' ceilings :(
So obviously, the room was the weakest link.

sounds great!

questions on the drums-
im having some problems myself recording drums, i know all my drums are tuned right, so i know thats not the problem, but anyway...

so there's not any eq on them at all? also, this might seem like kind of a dumb question, but are all the volumes on the drum mics at the exact same level? cause ive been having some questions that. heres what im using for mics.

2 shure sm81's - overheads
sm57 - snare
beta 52 - kick
oktava mk 219 - tom
oktaka mk 219 - tom

basiclly im just wondering what you did to get that sound? (im trying to record my band so i dont know taht much about this) but that sounds awesome man. nice job

Hey Pete, thanks for the comments. To answer your quetion simply, what I did to get those drum sounds, was take advice from the good people on this site. I "hounded" Tim with relentless questioning!!!!! Since everyone was so good to me with helping out with my questions, I think it's only fair that I do my best to help you out.

First off, the drums right now are completely dry, with the exception of the kick which has a hint of compression on it to make it a little snappier. Here is how I mic'd t5he kit: