I feel defeated.

Schloo

I've recorded before back in the day and am now realizing I like tape way better than digi (probably because I'm a drummer). Anyways, I'm really on a budget and would like to multitrack (8) my drums onto tape asap (I can dump onto my computer later, right?).

Right now I have some mics, a Alesis multimix 16, and an active drummer's imagination.

Should I:
a)Buy the tape recorder? If so which one (remember I'm on a home recording budget)?

b) Give up, sell everything and get a firepod or other non-analog gizmo.

c) Give up completely, sell everything and buy my unborn children some clothes, etc.

Sorry if this should be in the newbies section. It just seems like nobody goes there.

Thanks! Bye!

There are tons of options. For 8 tracks look into a Fostex E8, Tascam/Teac 388 or TSR-8, or an Otari MX5050. You also will need to mix down to something. Either your computer, a CD recorder, a tape deck, or another reel. You could also mix your drums live on the multimix to a mixdown reel, Like a Tascam 22-2 or 32 or a Fostex E-2 (or a cassette deck). You will have to do a search to learn how to clean these machines and take care of them but its easy. You can go to www.urecordingmedia.com (not sure what is in europe) to find out what tape and upkeep is going to cost (you also need leader tape and maybe splicing tape and spare reels).

Now, why do you feel defeated?

FALKEN said:
Now, why do you feel defeated?
because non-analog recording of drums sucks. that's why. :) Like you don't know it ;) :D :p

btw. option (c) is not the end of the world ;) ... I'm thinking about it from time to time too.

Fostex r8, tascam 38, TEAC 80-8 plus models that FALKEN mentioned are just fine. But because all this means that you are going to be shopping in the junk-yard - get ready for not so much fun "fun".