i could use some advice

atw23

im just starting to learn to sing.. im able to sing in key with a song while hearing it on the radio or whatever , but i suppose anyone can do that.

im trying to sing original melodies while playing guitar and so far i can sing the root notes but im not able to sing notes that im not playing and hearing at the same time.

i hope that made some sense, maybye i just need more practice,
any advice would be appreciated, thanks.

Hey ATW23,

I will never forget when I first learned to sing and play.... It was weird! I (Swear) something literally "Clicked" in my head and I could do it... Like I said, it was weird. (Not that I can play OR sing very well at all. LOL)

I'm not sure if you've tried or not, but MAYBE you can do a simple chord progression that you can play without even thinking about it, then start singing or humming the melody of something completly different like "Jingle Bells" and then merge the two together so you're singing the melody in key with the chords.

:)

BTW- Welcome to the bbs.

Ear Training

There is no substitute for experience....

Practice, Practice, Practice....

Here are some things to try:

Play your open "G" string on the guitar, sing that note
Play your open "B" string on the guitar, sing that note'
Now play the G and sing the B... ok?

That's harmony.

Play a scale (C D E F G A B C) now sing it..

PLay the C while singing the E...
PLay the D while singing the F...
PLay the E while singing the G...
PLay the F while singing the A...
PLay the G while singing the B...
PLay the A while singing the C...

You get the idea? it will sound cool and you will be training your ear.

Dom

:D

Practice real easy songs in the range your voice feels most comfortable.

In my case they were songs like Creep by Radiohead, and Nutshell by AIC.

It doesnt take long.

hes right...it does click