Huge Question

TMHill

I've browsed these boards for some time, and believe you to be a useful bunch of guys - so I'm hoping you'll help me out with stuff I'm new to. I am an experienced composer who understands a great deal about sound, but I just haven't been around studios enough!!

I'm building a project studio at home. I don't want to be able to record rock bands or orchestras. I do occassionally want to record indiviual musicians playing accoustic instruments, or singing. I also want to be able to record spoken voice and other vocal effects. HOWEVER - the main thrust of my work is MIDI, and I want to be able to produce CDs in the digital domain that are as high quality as they can possibly be - on a budget (say, £2500)

I currently have:

PC - 850 Piii, 256kRAM, Cubase, Sibelius, Soundforge, Wavelab, Nero. SB Live soundcard

Keyboard - crappy thing used just for MIDI input
Microphone - Shure MIC. Can't remember exact name - cost about £150 a coupla years ago

What I THINK I want:

PC - New Soundcard

MICs - Two new ones - one for voice, one for others.

Keyboard - full size weighted with all MIDI controllers

Sound unit - Proteus 2500 - maybe a couple extra ROMs

Drum Machine - something with a WIDE range of percussion sounds and an easy interface!!

Effects unit - not sure what's available, but I don't mean a reverb box, here. I mean a synthe processor that lets me bugger around with cool FX until I like it!

I'm so sorry, in advance, to ask a million (and one) questions, but I think you see I need some guidance. If you have an opinion on any ONE thing in this post then I'd really like to hear it. If you know anywhere in England that doesn't rip you off when you buy stuff, I'd appreciate that too (at the moment, Turnkey seems good...?)

(See this post as an opportunity to suggest a complete set-up if you like!)

Many many many many many many many many thanks in advance

Tom

OK, here's my 2 cent's (1 schilling's) worth: