How's Business..?

Devilfire

Hello board... once again i have a question to any of you in the audio industry

i graduated from audio engineering school in 2000 (top five in my class !!)..one element that was so attractive about going to school is that they had a "Job Placment" program after you gradutated....(BULLSHIT!!!)

before the final term in school i met with my "job placement" director and she bascially told me she would send me on some interviews..if anything came around along with my complete confidence of getting good grades and knowing my stuff i said ..FUCK IT i dont need job placment .i can get it myself ..
(BIG MISTAKE)

from 2001-2003 i must have called every studio and radio station in new york city and emailed a few in california and of course no reply ..at the time i got the impression that the studio business was going thru a decline and studio were shutting down.

here it is 2005 has anything nothing changed ..i soon plan to quit my FT job to press harder onto my career but some advice would be helpful from any of you in the industry ...(hopefully in the NY merto area) sadly this is my only peer to peer outlet i have for information

you guys gave me good advice before ..dont stop now :)

Thanks

I can only wish you the best of luck.

I decided against a "music career" and proper recording education after speaking with a counsellor at MMI (Madison Media Institute). He said just to pay the bills I would probably have to work three jobs without benefits, move away to a "big city", any work for many years before I could "make it." Even then sounded sketchy. So I chose a different school where I can graduate and immediately make money. I don't LOVE it, but it will allow me to pursue my music hobbies.

damn ..this is depressing ...no one on here has anything postive or uplifting advice to give ...not only to me , but anyone else with the same problem...?

studio owners...recording/mixing engineers...program directors...boom operators...somebody..?