How to use a "pancake" of tape?

nddhc

Im very new to the world of analog recording. Just picked up a machine that uses 7" reels of Quantegy 457 tape or similar.

I want to order some RMGI LPR35 (457 equivalent) and would like to get the 3600' pancake so I can put it onto my own reels. Also the price is slightly cheaper than the prewound stuff.

However, I have no clue how to go about doing this and was wondering if you guys could help me out?

Thanks! :D

Well, the advice I'd give (which I'd also take), is to order the 'prewound' stuff, when dealing with 7" reels.

With the standard, large hub, 10.5 aluminum reels, it's easy, 'cause most have screws that you can take out, removing the 2 flanges and placing the pancake inside and that's it. You can't do that when you're dealing with 7" reels. You'd have to somehow spool some of the pancake onto these but that is too risky for me, to even consider.

Again, my recommendation is to spend a little more and get the proper LPR35 on 7" reels. Yeah, I know, RMGI increased the price from about 15 to 22 bucks, not too long ago but it's still great tape, worth the amount spent.

------

A turntable is one way of transferring tape to 7 inch reels. Put the pancake on to the turntable and the empty 7 inch reel on to your reel2reel. Lace up the tape and press play.

If you have access to a 10.5"-capable machine, what I usually do is to dismantle a 10.5" reel so that I've got just one of the side panels, put the pancake on that (with the machine on its back) and wind the tape onto the empty spool.

Can you unscrew the 7" metal reels in the same way as the 10.5" ones? All the 7" metal spools that I've seen look like you can dismantle them?

A problem if you only have plastic reels though?

I've never seen a 7" reel that was able to be disassembled.

The vast majority of them are plastic, all-in-one type of things. So you can take the risk of threading the tape (as mentioned earlier,) or just fugidol, and go with pre-wound reels.