how to start a career in recording industry?

jcnoernberg

Hey,
I’ve been messing around with recording for a few years now, and I’ve really grown fond of it. I’d really like to learn the art or recording, and try to make a career out of it. There seems to be a lot of smart and educated people in the industry here, so maybe you can help. I am currently computer engineering major, just finishing up my second year. Here are some questions I have…

Should I consider changing majors, maybe to a broadcasting degree? Will I learn more in schooling than I will on my own? Do studios require you to have a degree to work there?

Anyone attend any of those 3-month or so seminars various institutions offer? They seem to be attractive offers, but some are incredibly expensive, upwards of 5-grand. Money is not really an issue (that’s what student loans are for, yuck) but I can’t afford to waste it. I am spending a lot on my current education, and will spend what I need to.

Is it possible to volunteer/internship at a studio? Anyone here ever done that? Anyone own a studio in northern Ohio that would do that? I am getting a little ahead of myself, but I just need to find a way to get more involved.

How did some of you begin your careers in the industry? And the final important question, what is an average salary? I don't expect to make a ton of cash, I'm not even really interested in that (for now!) I just want to be able to support my family, I don't want to be broke for ten years until I get a break.

Anything you guys can offer me will help me in my pursuit! Thanks for reading this!!!

My advice is to finish your computer engineering degree. Save up some cash and get some recording gear. Spend your summers recording anything and everything that makes music. Bands, singers, church choirs, marching bands, whatever. Offer to do it for free or next to nothing. Read some books.