How to improve my sound quality?

Yeeeessssss

I'm fairly new to the recording world and don't know much about recording/mixing. I have some basic knowledge about recording but its limited. Ill just go ahead and list out all the things i have/use for recording. I've got a little bit of money to work with and i want to know where to put it to make the biggest improvement in my sound quality. I typically only use the condenser mics as the mixer has issues with static noises coming from it and sounds from the mic are much more clean and clear. Some instruments I'm interesting in recording- Drums, Vocals, Electric and Acoustic Guitar, Bass Guitar, Trumpet, and Keyboard.

Mixer: Mackie 402-vlz3

Microphones: Samson USB C01U and C03U

Laptop: HP Pavillion dv9000

Software: Freeware (Audacity, Tracktion 3 which came with mixer)

Headphones: Bose Ae2

Monitors: No monitors

Room Treatment: No room treatment

Thanks a ton!

Last edited:
For a start, do some reading before you buy anything else. The threads at the top of this section of the forum on Mixers and Home Recording, FAQs and Intro to Multitrack Recording are a must.

USB mics limit you to one track recording at a time - maybe you have figured out already that you can't plug a USB mic into that Mackie mixer. If you record drums, you are probably going to want at least 4 tracks (and probably more) and will need a good audio interface with multiple mic preamps for this. The mixer has audio outs only, no analog-to-digital converter to get the signals into yoru computer.
You will need monitors for mixing. A full-featured DAW such as Reaper. Room treatment depends on the room.