How To Digitise Tascam Tapes?

danielpettitt

Hi everyone,

I've just joined this forum to find out about an issue I have really. I put up a wtb add in the classified section here but no joy, I was told by someone at Tascam that I needed a Tascam Porta Two which would allow me to digitise four track tascam tapes as seperate tracks through an audio interface onto my computer (creating seperate WAV files etc) so that I can re-mix/master my many old Tascam tapes.

I've been searching high and low for a Porta Two for a month or two now but no joy, does anyone know of a more readily available machine that will do the same job for me?

Thanks in advance,

Dan :)

I'm in the UK (north east england).

Any ideas? I just need a device and I haven't got a clue what to get.

I know I'm a newbie and dont' have a clue about this stuff, but I was hoping someone could give me a few pointers.

Hi Steenamaroo,

Thanks for that :) Appreciating the input.

Yes, my unit is the same as your ebay link, a Porta 2 MKII.

The other link, the guy with the query eventually bought a Tascam 424 MkIII - not meaning to appear stupid lol but will this machine transfer each of my 4 tracks seperately so they can digitised/mixed? ie not digitised in one transfer/mix all tracks together.

I contacted Tascam and they recommended a Porta Two, but they're so hard to get hold of, I've been looking for a couple of months now and no luck.

Thanks,

Dan :)

Yes!

The 424mkIII or 424mkII will be adequate to transfer 4 tracks from tape simultaneously in various speeds and either NR(dbx) or No-NR, through various switch settings for compatibility.

I'm not entirely clear from your posts if you state your tapes were originally recorded on a Porta 02mkII? Or what?