How much affect does it have.........

Dioxide

So how many of you actually use your pinky finger when playing??? I only ask because I was born w/ out one on my left hand and i'm right handed so fret wise im down a digit. I've been playing for over 13 years and I'll never know the difference btwn playing w/ one and w/ out one. Is it really that crucial to have one for lead playing? I'm not much of a lead player because I figuered it would be pointless w/ out the 4th digit. let me know your thoughts on this. Thanks.

lead playing

i use mine quite a bit at the lower end of the neck . anything past the 15th fret it gets in the way cuz i have huge fat fingers... but thats just me ..... you could probably do pretty good w/ out it ... how is your reach beteween your 1st and 3rd finger ?? if you have good reach you should be cool ... a little speed wont hurt as well ... most important practice all you can .... :cool:

it certainly helps. i use my pinky all the time for playing bass and guitar, but i didn't use it much when i first started playing. i'm sure that you can do just fine without it though, people always seem to make do with what they have. if you've been playing for 13 years now, it seems like missing a pinky isn't gonna stop you now. :D

lead playing

just remember .... it's all in how you use what you have ..... a good friend of mine was born w/ half a arm and a few disfigured fingers attached to it .... he is one of the better guitar players that i know ...... :cool:

Dioxide said:
So how many of you actually use your pinky finger when playing??? I only ask because I was born w/ out one on my left hand and i'm right handed so fret wise im down a digit. I've been playing for over 13 years and I'll never know the difference btwn playing w/ one and w/ out one. Is it really that crucial to have one for lead playing? I'm not much of a lead player because I figuered it would be pointless w/ out the 4th digit. let me know your thoughts on this. Thanks.