how important is a pre ?

tomleblanc

I've tried doing searches to find an answer to this question, but it's hard to type in something specific enough that you don't get a billion hits, but not so specific that you get none. Obviously I failed. So here goes...

Basically, I was hoping someone could explain to me why it's important to use a microphone pre-amp when recording, and whether or not it'll make a difference in my current situation.

Right now I'm using an SM-58 plugged right into my Fostex MR-8 recorder, through a blueberry cable. The problem is, if I sing loudly enough/set the recording level high enough for the mic/recorder to pick up the quieter aspects of a vocal track, it clips, and if I sing softer, it just lacks that certain undescribable quality of "umph" that makes it sound real, and decent! Boosting the levels, adding compression, etc. after the fact (through software) don't seem to really help. Although, I must admit that I'm still a beginner at mixing, etc.

So I was wondering if adding a good pre-amp to my signal chain (and eventually a compressor, probably an RNC, but not right now) might help me get a better result before I buy a condensor mic. And by better, I mean a noticeably better result. I was thinking along the lines of a DMP3, a VTB-1, a BlueTube, etc., or something in that price range, preferably with 2 channels as I hope to do some stereo acoustic guitar recording in the future.

Thanks for reading! :)

c7sus said:
The reasons you lined out are why a decent pre is recommended.

Just to be clear...So you're saying that adding a decent pre will help me circumvent the problem of getting either too little of the quiet sounds or too much of the loud sounds? (even with just my dynamic mic?). Or will I need both the pre AND a compressor to really eliminate this problem?

Thanks for taking the time to type all that stuff out c7sus!!! Very helpful!!! :)