How do you have your keyboard midi controller configured?

Berberman

I was considering buying a Compact MIDI Keyboard Controller kinda like the M-audio Oxygen 8 or O2 or even the E-mu X-board 25 keys...then i saw the simple midi keyboards with no knobs for much less -kinda like the M-audio keystation 49 -and i thought hey, i don't have any experience with these yet and i wonder if i'm gonna use all those extra knobs...

What do you use yours for and how do you have them configured? share your setup with me.

I use a Novation remote 25 and have it programmed for every synth in the studio (some have several presets for various tasks) plus the transport buttons for use with my sequencer. So yes, I use the hell out of my controls

I have a simple 49Key Evolution Controller. I dont use much except for the Octave button :( I shoulda held out for more keys but I am a poor musician. :mad:

I do everything with my computer. I edit like mad: velocity, panning, whatever. I dont use the mod wheel often, I hardly ever use pitch bend. I'n boring.

altitude909 said:
I use a Novation remote 25 and have it programmed for every synth in the studio (some have several presets for various tasks) plus the transport buttons for use with my sequencer. So yes, I use the hell out of my controls

Cool stuff. What are transport buttons though? and how do you like the novation compared to the m-audio Oxygen 8?

Transport are ffwd/rwd/stop/play/rec for my sequencer. The Remote is light years ahead of the oxygen 8 as far as programmability since I can send any type of midi msg where the oxygen 8 and only send CC's. Plus the novation keyboard action is very good and the remote also serves as an additional midi port

Beginner or Pro, it matters what your applications are.

I use my boards for performance more than recording, so I don't use the transport controls too often. However:

Pitch/Mod wheels or equivilant are a MUST have.

Aftertouch is nice if you can get it.