How do you handle -10 db input on MSR 16?

Astoe

Hi guys,

I am new to the Reel to reel. Got an MSR 16 and want to do the mixdown of my DAW to the MSR 16 instead of bouncing tracks inside cubase.

Now my output is TRS balanced. the MSR16 in is cinch unbalanced at -10 db. how would you handle the situation?

Will it be enough if I put the output of the DAW down or will the dynamics of the signal still be to high.

Sorry kind of stupid questions, but well... :confused:

thx

Astoe said:
Now my output is TRS balanced.

output of what? what hardware/card/system? You may have options there... guys may know what exactly to do in your situation.

/respects

also, what do you mean by "do the mixdown of my DAW to the MSR 16"... do you mean using two tracks of MSR as 'mixdown' stereo ???? kind of trying to understand what are you trying to do.... :confused:

Hi Dr Zee,

thanks a lot for taking the time to answer my question.

Don't get me wrong, but I think the material I use is really secondary.

The main question is : How do I get a 0db balanced signal into a -10 db unbalanced input.

If you want an image : Do I simply make a cable with TRS on one side and a cinch connector on the other side?...Probably not. I know Tascam used to make some boxes like LA-80 and LA 81, they would perfectly fit the job, but are pretty expensive. :(

At the time tascam built the MSR 16, their consoles were complying to the
-10db standard. Today, 0db is standard.

To answer your question about the mixdown : I am basically doing all my recs and editing in cubase SX (Voices, analog synths, VST instruments...). When the song is finished, I would normally bounce it to a stereo track inside Cubase.

BUT this does often not lead to satisfying results. So my plan is to use my 8 outputs and go directly into my MSR16. If there are more than eight channels needed, I repeat the operation. Of course I want to get tape sound here.