How do I record more than 2 tracks?

lpdeluxe

The Precision Bass Guy
I've been using CEP for 4 years, and until now I guess I never recorded more than 2 tracks at once. I have a Tascam TM-D1000 digital mixer which allows me to select "Direct Out" which means that each channel is directed to the corresponding TDIF channel (that is, Channel 1 is routed through Channel 1, Channel 2 is routed through Channel 2, and so on) up to a possible 8 channels. The TDIF is converted via a box to ADAT lightpipe, which is also 8 channels. This goes into a Terratec EWS88D card, which allows 8 channel full duplex recording and playback. I have selected the 4 pairs (Wave 1/2, Wave 3/4 etc) for I&O in Options/Device Order/Recording [Playback] Devices. The playback works as it should: in fact, just to make sure it was, I routed 8 tracks of a finished mix to 1L, 1R, 2L, 2R etc and all played back on the separate mixer channels I had sent them to.

SO! If I plug a mic into Channel 1 of the mixer, and select the Channel 1's In as 1L (in CEP), it records. If I do the same with Ch 2 (1R in CEP) it records. If I plug the mic into Channel 3, and select 2L in CEP for that channel...nothin'. Same for Channels 4, 5 & 6, (2R, 3L & 3R) which is as far as I got.

Anyone have any suggestions? I remember having used 3L & other inputs a couple of months ago before my computer melted down... But there's no change in my signal routing or software or equipment.

Now I'm beginning to believe it's a soundcard issue. I hooked up my mic preamp which has digital ADAT outs and (even though it's only 2 channels) will transmit data on all 8. Same thing: Mr Pro will record on 1L or 1R, but nada beyond....At least that eliminates the mixer, which is rapidly becoming a dinosaur.;)