how do I get this muddy, mysterious 1960s sound?

cutout

I'm new to home recording. I'm about to put down a few new songs of my own, mainly just electric guitar and vocals, and I like the production of this band -

Nerve City - Armory - YouTube

Nerve City - Sleepwalker - YouTube

Nerve City - Concentrate - YouTube

It's probably very few people's cup of tea here, but it's appropriate for what they're going for here, production-wise and sensibility-wise, according to their interviews anyway.

Is it just a matter of reverb and EQ'ing? Any other subtleties you hear that are easy to replicate? Pedals, amp settings, other techniques?

Record in a decent-size garage with no sound treatment, everything live, no overtracking. Find the cheapest microphone you can get that still works and plug it into a solid state guitar amp.
There really isn't 'muddiness' involved, mud is typically defined as low-midrange stuff. This is trebly and heavy on the reverb.

Old "British" sound

Spot on about the reverb to create the old British sounds. Also a well run in Vox valve guitar amp with its own spring reverb. If you record in a lively space such as a large bathroom that helps. Dead space will never get that sound. I am sad I sold my old AKG spring reverb now as that created that sound perfectly, and people loved it. The new Cubase has a good convoluted plate reverb plug in that comes close. I am sure there are some spring reverb emulations out there as well. Also a Jo Meek compressor may assist, that's what "The Searchers" group was recorded with, the original old one that is.

Thanks guys. Gonna check out some different reverb plugins. I've got a 1970s Fender Twin, but it's not exactly the same kind of reverb sound.

Also, muddy is probably not the right word. But there's a murkiness to these songs that I like, which I probably would not like in most other music.