How do I buy a bass?

PeteAnon

Hey all,

I'm going to bite the bullet very shortly, and get myself a relatively cheap bass for recording purposes. I want to spend between $200-300.

I've got 2 questions:

1 - What should I look for in a bass? I'm a guitarist, I've got a musical background, but I don't really know what to look at closely when it comes to basses. I'm guessing-- general sound quality, lack of fret buzz, the way it's set up, manufacturing quality, neck attached solidly to body, etc.-- guitar stuff?

2 - What brands/models do you recommend? I've heard Ibanez GSR200 is a good one. What else should I check out?

Pete

You could definitely do worse than to check out the big liquidation of DeArmond guitars and basses going on everywhere.

The Pilot series are very nice basses (the DeArmond guitars are superb) and are going for about 70%+ off list...$140 - $300, but going FAST. When these are gone, there will be no more.

High quality, dirt cheap! Hit www.SamAsh.com then go to basses and click on "Great Deals" and scroll through.

This is about the cheapest way I know to get a good bass right now.

Damn dude, thanks for the heads-up!

I just bought a Pilot Pro 4 string for $199....I can't believe shipping is free. Usually I wouldn't buy a guitar sight-unseen, but I'm a guitar player before I'm a bass player, and this thing has GOT to be better than the junky peavey I've got right now. Decent wood, active electronics...I almost went for the $139 Pilot but I'll pay an extra 60 bucks for better wood.

I guess we'll see how happy I am when it gets here.

Slackmaster 2000

Very cool... I'm going to Sam Ash tomorrow. On my list are the DeArmond, a Fender Mexi, and an Ibanez GSR200.

Still don't have any advice as to what to look for though, so I'll use my common sense and the supreme wisdom of the sam ash salesman who has no reason not to lie to me.... ;)

Pete