How classical theory applies to everyday music...

SEDstar

The more I study music (on my own, self taught, mind you...) the more it strikes me what doing and learning classical stuff really applies to simple everyday stuff...

cadence...

I first read about cadence, perhaps "day one" I became serious about studying music on my own on the internet, and dismissed it out of hand, as classical "musical calculus" that had no bearing on making a "regular" power chord song.

I was wrong, lol.

Later on, it was "something I was lacking" and looking for. I accidentally used it to "some" effect periodically, and some of those early songs were "better", but I didnt know "why". The "why" as I now look back, was that I had purely accidentally used a portion of cadence in the proper place.

Cadence looks complex, but like anything, a few pointers or rules of thumb borrowed from classical theory can take years out of the "by ear" learning curve. Now a couple/several years into this, my ears are "beginning" to hear I,IV, and V chords somewhat... I cannot tell you by ear what is the "root" by name, but I can detect sometimes the "lift" of the IV and V.

This all came home listening to "cat scratch fever" for the umpteenth time in my life. I noticed Mr. Whackmaster's powerchord classic, anthemic even, song... had subtle changes to its basic melody.

if he was going to do it again, it sounded like it had a "4...5" for the final 2 chords... and when he was done repeating it for the verse, it had somethign that sounded like a partial cadence or maybe an authentic cadence, with the root chord drawn out.

Counterpoint...