how can this guy's budget setup sound so good?

pianomaestro

Hi, I'm new to studio recording. I want to record my 6' grand piano in my living room (just for fun), so I bought a $60 Samson mic, a boom, and recorded w/ Audacity. Even after experimenting with 25 different mic positions, the recording wasn't very good.

I ran across some random video on YT that sounded really good, and I was surprised the guy is using a low-end Behringer C1 mic. Here's the vid: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=M5JSldncbiA

Can someone explain how he can make the piano sound so good w/ a $50 mic when my comparable Samson sounds so hollow and tinny? And notice how he has the piano lid closed and the C1 is sitting right over the bass strings. He does everything wrong and yet it sounds so good. I'm a bit suspicious actually -- is this legit?

Hi there,
Two things. The c1, as far as I know, isn't end address so he has it pointing across the strings rather than at them.
Also, it sounds stereo to me so I'm guessing he has another one at the other side doing the same thing (symmetrically opposite).

Any use?

So you don't think the piano sound quality is a function of editing tricks or such? I'm still pretty shocked that this setup can sound so professional. And it doesn't appear as if his room acoustics are that great. He has blinds over the windows and the piano is right up against the wall. It's like he broke every rule and it still sounds good :wtf:

Oh the other thing I noticed is, his mouth is 3 inches from the ATR2020 mic with no pop filter. And yet no popping sounds.

So you don't think the piano sound quality is a function of editing tricks or such? I'm still pretty shocked that this setup can sound so professional. And it doesn't appear as if his room acoustics are that great. He has blinds over the windows and the piano is right up against the wall. It's like he broke every rule and it still sounds good :wtf: