How can I get into doing Drum Tracks?

geusey

So I've done some gigging and recording on drums for a couple different bands while in college, and I've had a blast. Unfortunately, after I graduated I took a job out in the sticks that doesn't allow for me to get back into the city to do much. I have some decent equipment and I am a good, experienced drummer, and I know there are people out here who need drums on their recordings and might prefer real drums to EZ Drummer.

I think it would be a great way to keep in practice and even challenge myself a little if I started recording some tracks for people. Is that something that I could realistically get into? If so, where do I start?

Thanks!

Like any other business probably. Set up a website, post some clips and advertise. Advertise in magazines, SEO, craigslist, google ads. Whatever you can do. Except don't advertise in the forums here. It'll be considered spam, deleted and you get banned. But you can contact the admins about renting ad space.

Or are you talking about doing drum tracks for free?? If so, then post away. There are several drummers here who freely collab with other members. It's a great way to be involved in the community.

Welcome to the site.

Do you have the gear to record - audio interface with 8 (or more) inputs, mics, a good room to record in?
One of the guys here did some drum tracks for me, I did some guitar tracks for him, even exchange is always a good way to do things. Unlikley people are going to pay you for your efforts until you can demonstrate superior abilities.