Home studio electrical

pktfrog

I need to install the AC wiring for a friend's home studio. He wants several outlets and lighting (track lighting?). Can anyone give me some advice on making sure that none of the affore mentioned circuits interfere with the amplifiers or recording equipment? I've run AC wiring before, but never for a recording studio and I want to be sure I do it right the first time. If it is really complicated, please point me to a source on the web or a good book on this topic

Thanks to all!
Frog

[This message has been edited by pktfrog (edited 12-01-1999).]

Ribbit Ribbit Frogman:

I'm just going to give you a couple of thoughts about the wiring of the studio as I'm not an expert.

Make sure outlets are grounded.

Check into getting a "supply" box that cleans the electricity before it goes to the equipment. I guess there is a name for this type of "filtering" device but most electricians would know or you can check on the web. [dogpile.com]

You might get a surge surpressor/combo filter to feed the equipment?

Start recording.

Green Hornet

If you have room in your circuit breaker box,
run a new 20 amp circuit with 12 gauge wire to a bunch of outlets in your studio. (I have 12). Then run a separate circuit for lighting, switches and dimmers etc....

don't use flourescent lights!

Sincerely;

Dom Franco

It depends on how far you want go ( read: how much you want to spend ). Dedicated circuits, like Dom Franco describes, are a must if your looking for really clean power. That plus an isolated earth ground, just for those circuits, is a good idea also.
If you want to go past that, you get into isolation transformers, filters, suppressors, etc., like Green Hornet describes. That can get expensive for a 20 AMP circuit, and probably isn't necessary unless the power is really bad in the area.