Hi!

Andreasl84

Hello!
If this sentence sounds "wrong" i'm sorry about it cause i'm swedish and i had to look up the words in a dictionary!

Anyways "i'm seized with dread and worry" about buying the "wrong" mic...Cause most "guess" buys i've done throught my life have ended up (after a week or two) as dust collectors...And this time i don't want that to happen! SOOOO
I've read some things on this forum for example i've seen a poll on the "best" micpreamp in it's class here..And i thought that i'm going for a M-Audio Dmp3..Since i already have a M-audio Delta 66 and it would be a nice compliment too it i believe..
But the problem is i have no clue what mic to buy...
I've only tried recording vocals once with cheap computer microphone and Shure Sm58 threw a Toneport UX1..And it sounded Awful i tried..Most things i could think of little gain..Much gain...being close to the microphone or a bit away..But pretty much the same "dead" result...So in other words..
I have no "real" experience in recording "professional sounding" vocals...When listening to those "try takes" i did with the shure and toneport..It's just such a pain and makes me really embarassed...I know i'm not a good singer..But it certainly sounds more bad then it really is...The whole "sound"..Could this be because of the preamp being bad or is the Sm58 that is not fit for serious vocalrecordings..From what i have read its more of a "performance live" microphone? Correct me if i'm wrong!

Anyway...
Considering this "disco recording" project i've been messing around with lately...I've seen and read that "condensor" mic is the way to go..
And i've also heard that swedish artist Basshunter used M-audio firewire 410(which is seen in this youtube link and some condensor mic that is also seen but i dont know which one it is..anyone of maybe could tell?)

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xxUFwj4IBQY