Hi! Using the Beyerdynamic DT 770 PRO as monitors?

Zorlee

Hi!
I was wondering if these headphones could be used as good monitors? I've tried these headphones (a friend of mine has them) and I really like the sound.
BUT I'm a beginner at choosing these things, so I want to know if they will get me a good enough sound so that I can do some good mixes!
I'm not a pro at all, and this is for my home studio... So I can't afford anything more expensive than this, and I would like some headphones also because they are portable...

Thank you very much for your help in advance!

PS: For all of you that read my threads earlier about wether going with a mac + other gear or a Yamaha AW1600. I bought the Yamaha AW1600 multitrack, and I'm VERY happy with it!
Thank you guys for your help on that one! :)

Zorlee said:
Hi!
I was wondering if these headphones could be used as good monitors? I've tried these headphones (a friend of mine has them) and I really like the sound.
BUT I'm a beginner at choosing these things, so I want to know if they will get me a good enough sound so that I can do some good mixes!
I'm not a pro at all, and this is for my home studio... So I can't afford anything more expensive than this, and I would like some headphones also because they are portable...
Please...at the very least, go have a look at cheapo (but effective) Behringer 2031 series of monitors, or something else that you may be able to afford other than relying on headphones. (Again)....Your mixes will always be lacking 'that something' while just using phones. Headphones come in handy when trying to find particular 'issues' within a mix, and only can give you a 'partial' perspective of what's going on. Trust me....I'm a Cancerian. lol. :)

Thank you for your reply!
Well, i kind of expected this information. But these headphones are really good though... But not as good as monitor speakers then?