Hi! Recording/live condenser?

iancl

Hey guys, I'm a drummer in a rock band. New to the forum.

I'm looking for a good quality microphone that I will be able to use underneath my snare drum, as I have every other mic I need for my kit. I want to use it for recording and live.

I was thinking that since it would hopefully be a fairly flat-range instrument condenser, I'd be able to use it to record other instruments like sax, guitar, and possibly vocals. I can't spend too much. I live in Australia so price comparisons may be different from where you are.

I've been looking at:
Shure PG81
Shure SM94
Shure KSM109 - seems great quality, but would it hold up live?
Rode NT3 - haven't found a diagram of frequency response on the website?

Thanks for all your help,

Ian

I use a AT pro37r with great results for this. You could potentially also try an Oktava MK012, though you should make sure you use a pad...

Jacob

The Shure 109 also sounds like a nice option. Just make sure that any condensor you get has a pad (assuming your aren't always playing fairly light). I have not been as impressed as many of the people on this BBS concerning the Beyer 201, but lots of folks do like it:)

xstatic said:
The Shure 109 also sounds like a nice option. Just make sure that any condensor you get has a pad (assuming your aren't always playing fairly light). I have not been as impressed as many of the people on this BBS concerning the Beyer 201, but lots of folks do like it:)

I sleep with mine under my pillow :)

Really, I would put up 201s on vocals instead of Beta 57s if they had a better solution than the foam windscreen. It sounds really nice though. Somehow I wasn't as impressed with the M69, and M88s are too dear :(

xstatic said:
My guess is that he was referring to his own fat fingers and thus the typo:D
:rolleyes: :rolleyes:

Yeah, I got it!! :)