hi newbie here

gremlin

Hi all Im new to the site, and have been recording on a cassette type recorder for a while, recently I have been aquiring gear to set up a nice studio, and wondering what else i need and how to connect all this stuff together. My goal is to have both analogue and pc based digital capabilities.

so far i have purchased:
Tascam DA30 MKII
Tascam DA88 with remote
Tascam dual cassette deck
Evantide Harmonizer
Beheringer digital Eq
Alesis midiverb4
ART tube compressor
Digidesign Pro Tools (software)
M-audio (interface)
M-audio (uc-33 controller)
Tascam studio monitors
e-mu drum machine
MXL studio condenser mic w/shockmount
Carvin instrument condeser mic
shure sm57
shure sm58
Tascam CD burner
48 space server rack (a freebie from work)

any idea on how to make all this stuff talk to each other and work together? Im used to my cassette all in one unit but wanted more of a "pro" set up that is more flexible with more track capabilities and better sound. Im looking at all this am a little overwhelmed right now so any hep would be great.

wow

Quite a change from the "all in one" cassette thingy you had, eh?
(Heheheheh)...

You've got a lot of good gear here...
You've also asked a whopper of a question...

Best thing to do is / start reading..
Learn what each thing does and begin from there...

You're going to need some type of mixer to put all the gear and signals together into one coherrent group... That's where I'd start...

Next - You don't need to buy anymore for the moment...
You've got some redundancy here that you're going to have to decide what you want to do...

One is the DA88 Recorder compared to the Pro Tools software....
Do you want to go analog or digital?

Lastly, if you were going to keep all this stuff / I might suggest this:

Tascam DA30 MKII - (Mixdown Unit)

Tascam DA88 with remote - (Multitracker / hook to that mixer we spoke of)

Tascam dual cassette deck - (Not much use / but good for mixdown)