Hi, and Help!

CelesteMac

Hi all, new around here. I've been recording for several years with the set up below and a couple of weeks ago some technical problems came up that I haven't been able to solve through hours of trouble shooting. Vocals suddenly started sounding wrong, boomy, sizzly. Today I can't record vocals at all through the Scarlett. Should I post more details in a separate area? I'm at a loss and have spent so much precious music time on this already. Sniff. Thanks so much!

iMac 10.8.5, Garageband, Scarlette 2i4, MXL 3000 condenser mic, Roland keys.

Posting more details in this thread would be a good start.

Can you record anything through your interface? (ie. does it still appear to be working)

Thank you for your reply. Yes, I'm recording. I made a mistake in the settings when I switched channels while troubleshooting. So I fixed that, and I am recording through the Scarlett now, but with the problem that almost sounds like latency, or like it's recorded with large hall reverb. But effects are off and the 2i4 has the direct monitor pan, which I have fully anti-clockwise for input only, and in Garageband I have monitor set to off. These are the settings I've always used with good results for no latency recording.

I'm not sure but I think this problem may have started when I accidentally unplugged the Scarlett USB from the iMac while Garageband was running. (I wasn't recording vocals that day or the next few so not sure.) There was an error message and I closed Garageband and restarted.

The Scarlett is class-compliant so there are no drivers to update. I've tried a different a mic, no help. Tried both XLR inputs/channels on the Scarlett, tried shutting down and re-seating all connections, tried several song files, and new blank files. I'm not sure what else to try short of buying a new interface to see if that's the problem.

Thanks again!!

I'm not sure what else to try short of buying a new interface to see if that's the problem.